Rethink Animation…

The other evening a few friends of mine and I were watching classic animated films in order to get inspired. At the end of the night, not only was I inspired but I was to the point of completely rethinking my approach animation. We watched films such as The Little Mermaid, The Land Before Time and Runaway Brain. embarrassingly enough I will admit that I have never watched Runaway Brain prior to that night. All I can say is WOW. I have NEVER seen a film, or short that has inspired me as much as this one. The acting choices, the timing, the appeal of the poses, the smear frames… everything about this short is so well done that you could frame by frame the entire movie and still feel like its the first time you’ve seen it. This film is astounding.

wow...

wow...

Anyway if your an animator and you haven’t seen this short then you have to check it out. watch for the timing, when the animators switch from 2’s to 1’s and how they use the smear frames to plus the motion. Its truly genius animation. If I produce one shot that can compare to this animation in my career I’ll be more than happy. simply inspiring animation and raw talent at its best. Runaway Brain should be in every serious animators personal library.

enjoy!

Leave a Reply

